**JUNE 1994** 

# ALAN STEWART WINS DUFF!

News of the Down Under Fan Fund, a fan-supported fellowship that since 1972 has helped to send fanrepresentatives between North America and Australasia in order to encourage closer ties between our fandoms.

## DUFF ADMINISTRATORS Australasia

Alan Stewart
PO Box 222
World Trade Centre
Melbourne VIC 3002 AUS
Phone: +61 3 429-8354
EMail:Alan=Stewart%Chem\_eng2@pc.
unimelb.edu.au

Phil Ware 77 Railway Place West Flemington VIC 3031 AUS Phone: +61 3 376-8391 EMail: plw@mtiame.mtia.oz.au

#### **North America**

Disk & Lean Smith 410 W. Willow Road Prospect Heights IL 60070-1250 USA

Phone: +1 708 394-1950 EMail: dick@smith.chi.il.us leah@smith.chi.il.us In a closely contested race, Alan Stewart prevailed over three other candidates to win the right to be the 22nd Down Under Fan Fund delegate.

Alan is editor of Thyme, the Australasian newszine, and an active member of the Melbourne SF Club and the Australia in '99 Worldcon bid. He will receive DUFF funds toward a trip to North America, including attendance at Conadian, the 52nd World Science Fiction Convention, Sept. 1-5, in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and then take up the reins of DUFF administration in Australia.

Although Alan was ahead in first-place votes, ballots had to be fully distributed before a majority could be declared. DUFF uses the preferential system of balloting to guarantee an automatic runoff and a majority win — the first-place votes for the lowest ranking candidates are dropped and those voters' subsequent choices are counted until a majority is reached.

Alan vied with Ron Clarke, Donna Heenan and the duo of Lucy Sussex and Julian Warner in this year's contest. In addition, there were first-place write-in votes for Marc Ortlieb and "The Wild Colonial Boy." Write-ins in other rankings were: Merv Binns; Blake Edgerton; Terry Frost; Ian Gunn and Karen Pender-Gunn; David L. Russell: Totoro; and W-E-B.

A total of 166 fans voted in the 1994 race: 70 in Australasia and 96 in North America. Six of those expressed no preference. Two people preferred an option to hold over funds.

#### 1995 NOMINATIONS OPEN

Nominations are now open for the 1995 DUFF race to bring a North American to the 1995 Australian National Convention, ThylaCon, to be held in Hobart, June 10-12 1995.

All nominating materials must reach an administrator by 14 September 1994.

Voting Details				
First Place Votes				
	Aus.	N.A.	Total	
Alan Stewart	20	38	58	
Sussex/Warner	26	18	44	
Ron Clarke	14	24	38	
Donna Heenan	7	8	15	
No Preference		6	6	
Hold Over Funds	1	1	2	
Write-ins:				
Marc Ortlieb	2		2	
The Wild Colonial Boy		1	1	
	70	96	166	
Distribution by Round				
	1st	2nd	Final	
Alan Stewart	58	64	90	
Sussex/Warner	44	52	60	
Ron Clarke	38	39		
Donna Heenan	15			
Write-ins	3			
Hold Over Funds	2			

### **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

I would like to thank the following for their assistance over the past 18 months:

- David Russell, Jack Herman, Parris McBride and Roger Zelazny, SwanCons and Constantinople for their great generosity
- Justin Ackroyd, Gigi Boudville, Jack Herman and Tara Smith for their invaluable assistance in organising voting at a distance
- Cyril Simsa for taking the interest in a race so far removed from him
- John Foyster and Marc Ortlieb for their continued encouragement.

### **Financial Details**

All figures are in Australian Dollars.

Balance as at 31 Aug 1993	\$ 2,025.00
AnzapaCon sales & donations	699.17
Constantinople Auction	375.00
Voting Fees & donations	626.00
Miscellaneous Donations	80.00
<del></del>	\$ 3805.17

The miscellaneous donations are mainly the proceeds of sales of material donated by Jack Herman. Thanks Jack!

## LIST OF VOTERS (AUSTRALASIA)

Jenny Ackroyd, Justin Ackroyd, James Allen, Jeanette Allen, Sally Beasley, Merv Binns, Jenny Blackford, Russell Blackford, Stephen Boucher, Gigi Boudville, Nathan Bunney, Dennis Callegari, Chris Chittleborough, Ron Clark, Susan Clarke, Catherine Cupitt, Michael Deegan, Terry Dowling, Roy Ferguson, John Foyster, Leanne Frahm, Jenny Glover, Ian Gunn, Michael Hailstone, Carey Handfield, Johanna Handfield, Eve Harvey, John Harvey, Jack R Herman, Mandy Herriot, Paul Herriot, Irwin Hirsh, Linnette Horne, Richard Hryckiewicz, Susan Hryckiewicz, Kim Huett, Tim Jones, Brent Lillie, Eric Lindsay, Dave Luckett, Lync, Susan Margaret, Perry Middlemiss, Robyn Mills, Lewis Morley, Neil Murray, Chris Nelson, Clive Newall, John Newman, Peter Nicholls, Cath Ortlieb, Marc Ortlieb, John Parker, Karen Pender-Gunn, Nick Price, Marilyn Pride, Geoff Roderick, Eugene Roseveare, Yvonne Rousseau, Bradley Row, David L Russell, Paul Saunders, Cyril Simsa, Gerald Smith, Nick Stathopulos, Colin Steele, Alan Stewart, Jonathan Strahan, Jane Tissell, Jean Weber